How to Merge Duplicate Contacts

Over time, it's possible you end up with several instances of the same person or company in your Highrise account.

When this happens, an admin or the Account Owner can merge together duplicate contacts. Users can only edit or merge contacts that they have created or imported.

If you’d like to be granted admin access to edit or merge any contacts, please have your Account Owner or another admin follow these steps to grant you access.

Finding possible duplicate people contacts

The Account Owner and any admins can find a list of potential people duplicates from the right side of the Contacts page. This only includes people contacts. Company contacts companies are not included at this time.

Manage Bulk Duplicates

Here you'll find a list of potential people duplicates. The list is pulled together based off similar contact names.

Find Bulk Duplicates

Clicking on an individual contact's name will open it in a new window in your browser for you to view more information about that contact.

Use the arrows icon to merge the duplicates or the check mark icon to ignore the potential duplicates.

Note: Choosing to ignore potential duplicates is permanent. If you accidentally dismiss them from the list, you can manually merge those contacts instead.

Important: When merging contacts together, if a single field (i.e. company, title or a custom field) creates a conflict, the information from the oldest contact will be used. The oldest contact is marked by a star icon. Notes and emails will be moved to the merged contact. If a mistake is made, contacts themselves can be restored from the trash, but notes and emails will NOT be transferred back.

Merging from a person's contact page

Choose the duplicate contact that you would like to remove from your account. This is the so-called loser of the merge. Navigate to their contact page, and click the Edit this person link in red.

Click the merge this person link on the right side of the page. Use the search field to find the winner of the merge before clicking the Merge these people button.

The notes, emails, tasks, and files from the loser contact's page will be copied over to the winner of the merge that you choose. The loser will then be deleted.

You can only merge people contacts with other people. There is no support to merge companies with people at the moment.

Merging from a company's contact page

Choose the duplicate contact that you would like to remove from your account. This is the so-called loser of the merge. Navigate to the company contact page, and click the Edit this company link in red.

Click the merge this company link on the right side of the page. Use the search field to find the winner of the merge before clicking the Merge these companies button.

The notes, emails, tasks, and files from the loser contact's page will be copied over to the winner of the merge that you choose. The loser will then be deleted.

You can only merge company contacts with other companies. There is no support to merge people with companies at the moment.

Undoing a merge

If you accidentally delete or merge the wrong contact, don't worry. You can go to your trash can to restore the contact immediately.

Not finding what you need? Contact our support team for additional help.

Highrise, our CRM Software